Speaker Howell Announces Elections to the Virginia Supreme Court and Court of Appeals

HouseGOPPress Releases

RICHMOND, VA – Speaker of the Virginia House of Delegates William J. Howell (R-Stafford) today announced elections by the Virginia General Assembly to fill vacancies on the Virginia Supreme Court and Court of Appeals. Judge Cleo E. Powell and Judge Elizabeth A. McClanahan were elected unanimously to fill the judicial seats vacated by Lawrence Koontz Jr. and Leroy Hassell Sr. McClanahan and Powell will assume their offices August 1, beginning a 12-year term on Virginia’s highest bench.

“The House Republican Caucus is pleased to announce the election of such qualified jurists to the bench. Judge McClanahan is a strong, principled voice in Virginia’s legal community, having previously served as Chief Deputy Attorney General under Jerry Kilgore and most recently as a Judge on the Court of Appeals. Likewise, Judge Powell has served admirably on the Virginia Court of Appeals since her investiture in 2008,” said Howell.

“To backfill the vacancies left by McClanahan and Powell on the Court of Appeals, we have chosen Stephen R. McCullough and Glen Huff to serve on Virginia’s Court of Appeals. Judge McCullough comes to the Court of Appeals from the Virginia Attorney General’s office where he served as senior appellate counsel, while Glen Huff comes to us from private practice with the firm of Huff, Poole & Mahoney, P.C. in Hampton Roads,” Howell continued.

“Today’s vote once again demonstrates Virginia’s strong commitment to transparent, sensible decision making for the benefit of the Commonwealth. The cooperation between the House and the Senate resulted in a strong slate of judicial appointees who share in the legislature’s dedication to justice and the rule of law,” said Delegate Ben Cline (R-Rockbridge), chief negotiator for the House Republicans.

“Electing strong, principled jurists to Virginia’s bench is one of the most important duties of the legislature. We are confident and happy with Justices Powell, McClanahan as well as Judges McCullough and Huff and pleased that the Senate was finally able to find common ground with our Caucus, allowing a vote to fill these critically important vacancies,” said Howell.

Also during today’s session, several judges were appointed to judicial circuits around the Commonwealth. Justices Powell and McClanahan will be sworn in on August 1 for 12 year terms. Judges Huff and McCullough will serve 8 year terms also beginning on August 1.